3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Help! Arms too long, arrows too short  (Read 517 times)

Offline vtbebedore

• Trad Bowhunter
Help! Arms too long, arrows too short
« on: January 27, 2013, 11:08:00 PM »
Looking for any advice.  I picked up some of the longest aluminum arrows I could find and they are still too short.  I am new to trad archery, and I could use some advice.  Does anyone know of a place I can get longer arrows?  DO I need to change my anchor point?  I have been drawing until my index finger touches the corner of my mouth.  Should I try drawing to the knuckle of my thumb?  A mechanical release might help, but that kind of defeats the purpose of going to traditional archery.  Here are some pics of what is going on.  If they don't load correctly, then I bought arrows that are 31.5" from knock to the end of the arrow and the end of the arrow is coming onto the shelf of my bow.  I can shoot field tips like this but a broadhead would catch.  Any advice would be appreciated.

Offline LKH

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Help! Arms too long, arrows too short
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 11:19:00 PM »
Trim about 2" off each arm?

Contact a custom bowyer.  You may be able to have a handle made that curves back in the middle.

Online Stumpkiller

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2013, 11:20:00 PM »
Where are you anchoring?  I'm 6'3" with a 75" armspan and get by with 30-1/2" BOP arrows by anchoring with my middle-finger-tip touching my eye-tooth.

Your image looks like the nock is near your ear.
Charlie P. }}===]> A.B.C.C.