3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Finally got some proper arrows for the 90# ELB, watch out hogs!!  (Read 255 times)

Offline nineworlds9

• Trad Bowhunter
  • Northman
So I've been shooting my monster 90# ELB for a couple months now.  I love all kinds of longbows, takedown, R/D, ELB, lam, self, whatever.  I am unlike others who enjoy the heavy 'warbow'/ELB style longbows- I appreciate heritage and am a history buff, but I have zero interest really in flight/clout or period correct shooting, being a big man, to me it's just a giant ELB and I love the size, power, and fun of pulling it back behind my ear.  I also have decided to embrace the challenge of taking a 76" 90# bow out in the woods hunting.  Not in a tree, but on the ground, either hidden or on the stalk.  The quarry most suited to this size bow is the feral hog.  I am convinced some of them may have French ancestry and their invasion must be stopped!     ;)      And of course they are TASTY!  Anyway, I acquired the bow without having the proper arrows for it.  The bow is tillered to 33" and up to now I was only able to practice pulling and holding it past my ear with out a long arrow, and for shooting purposes was limited to some 30" carbon arrows I had lying around for my other bows, which only allowed about a 75-80# shot pulled to my face.  Let me say the carbons were just NOT heavy enough for the bow.  Such a huge stick needs some HEAVY arrows in order to transfer its energy efficiently.  Even weighted with a heavy field point and a piece of plastic coated wire inside the carbons just weren't cutting it, barely hitting 650g total weight.  This bow needs something more in the realm of 800+ grains to function and get decent cast, not to mention being tillered to 33" it really need