3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Sheep hunting in the Yukon  (Read 934 times)

Offline Kohout

• Trad Bowhunter
Sheep hunting in the Yukon
« on: February 02, 2013, 12:55:00 PM »
Hello guys,
I going to go for a sheep hunting in the Yukon this summer (August).
I have no experience with a sheep hunting, so I would like to know any advices from you guys, which can to help me. I going to go myself.  
Thank you

Offline ron w

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Sheep hunting in the Yukon
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2013, 01:30:00 PM »
Lucky you .....always been a dream hunt of mine...I don't think I could do it physically now. Hope you do it and have a great time!
In the beginner's mind there are many possibilities. In the expert's there are few...So the most difficult thing is always to keep your beginner's mind...This is also the real secret of the arts: always be a beginner.  Shunryu Suzuki

Offline Steve O

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2013, 01:50:00 PM »
Get the best binoculars you can afford, put them on a tripod and spend your time sitting behind them.

Make a plan for your stalk and memorize landmarks.  Write them down in a little notebook if you have to.

If you can talk a friend into it, a partner to direct you on the stalk can increase your odds immensely.

What part of the Yukon?  I rifle hunted sheep there in the far north Ogilvies.

Offline Bowwild

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2013, 01:58:00 PM »
The only thing I could offer is how to dream about it.

Good for your and good luck!

Offline Kohout

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2013, 02:09:00 PM »