3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: FIRST BOW REFINISHING HELP  (Read 382 times)

Offline bronco2

• Trad Bowhunter
FIRST BOW REFINISHING HELP
« on: February 06, 2013, 11:10:00 PM »
Hello all. well here are some picture of my first bow i will be attempting to refinish. it is a shakespear model x30  45# at 54". it is not to bad. but has some scratches and the clear finish is come off of it. so, what do i need to do first? i did body work for a living for about 5 years. so, i know how to sand and refinishing goes. start out with some 100 grit maybe and should i take all the clear finish off of it? i will need some help. so i do very much appreciate anyone who can help me out. thanks, denny

i will get better pictures tomorrow..

Offline **DONOTDELETE**

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: FIRST BOW REFINISHING HELP
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2013, 11:32:00 PM »
i think i'd recommend starting with 120 grit on the riser and get the finish off first..... go real easy on sanding the limbs. drop back to 180 or even 220, and do not try standing any deep scratches out or you'll effect the poundage of the limbs and could throw it way out of balance....

any dents in the riser can be lifted with steam.

after the riser is looking good, hand sand it with 180/ 220 then start out with a sanding sealer and keep coating it lightly and sanding smooth again with 220 until you've got all your deep scratches filled... then you start your finishing process...  kirk

Offline portugeejn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2013, 11:42:00 PM »
This has tons of information on it, but I bet a lot of it would be helpful if you haven't seen it yet.

RonP

Bow Restoration 101

Offline bronco2

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2013, 07:37:00 AM »