3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: HELP - Wood Arrows and Tight Groups  (Read 493 times)

Offline UrbanDeerSlayer

• Trad Bowhunter
HELP - Wood Arrows and Tight Groups
« on: February 25, 2013, 09:38:00 PM »
I'm fairly new to shooting wood arrows.  I'm used to carbon arrows and tight groups, and obviously wood is not going to be as consistent. I've spined my arrows into groups that are within 2#'s and that seems to help, but I still get the occasional flyer. I've noticed a few things, and listed below.  Please feel free to comment and correct on my list and add any tips to help get better wood arrow flight and tight groups.

1. Is it just me, or does a wood arrow need to be shot a bunch of times before it flies consistent? Is there a "breaking in" period?
2. LARGE fletchings seem to get the arrow out of paradox faster, I've fletched some with Banana feathers I cut that are 5 1/2" long. My carbon arrows don't seem to be as finicky.
3. Wood arrows dont seem as forgiving as carbon. If my form isn't perfect the arrow will be considerably off target.

I will be shooting competitive 3D in a longbow division with wood arrows, so any tips, assistance, etc from all of the hardcore wood arrow trad gangers is much appreciated!
Shoot Straight, Feel Great!

Offline S.C. Hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: HELP - Wood Arrows and Tight Groups
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2013, 09:49:00 PM »