3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Another shaft selection question.....  (Read 520 times)

Offline caligator

• Trad Bowhunter
Another shaft selection question.....
« on: March 05, 2013, 07:48:00 PM »
Hello all! So I am new to shooting traditional gear. Have shot the wheeled variety for 20+ years. I haveread the newbie information and still have some questions....

I am shooting a Treadway Black Swamp 45@28, 60". My measured draw lenghth is 30.5, to the front of the shelf. I would assume that I would shoot a 31" arrow, just to be safe. I really like the carbon arrows as I know I am going to be hard on them in the beginning. I know this because I shot the TBOF tournament this past weekend. So what would you guys recommend the carbon arrow world? Shooting split finger with a tab.

Thanks in advance.....
The welfare of the state depends upon the morals of its citizens.

Offline caligator

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Another shaft selection question.....
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 08:18:00 PM »
My above post is a little vague. What spine shafts do you all recommend? I guess aluminum wouldnt be out of the question as they are a little less expensive, but prefer carbon.

Thanks
The welfare of the state depends upon the morals of its citizens.

Offline Shawn Leonard

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 08:41:00 PM »
A .500 spine would be a great place to start at 31"s and point weight from 150 on up to 225. My best estimate would be right around 175 up front. Those bows are quick and shoot hard, you may be able to shoot a .400 spine but would need a lot of point weight, minimum of 275 but most likely more. Shawn
Shawn

Offline scedvm

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2013, 09:09:00 PM »