3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: PLEASE HELP!!! I can't kill anything!!!!  (Read 497 times)

Offline Arkansas Osage

• Trad Bowhunter
PLEASE HELP!!! I can't kill anything!!!!
« on: March 19, 2013, 01:21:00 AM »
So I'm just gonna come right out and be honest, I'm a bow hunting virgin, I've never killed anything. I've been shooting a trad bow off and on a little bit for quite a few years, never anything serious. I've had a 35lb red oak longbow since I was 16 and always enjoyed shooting it. But this past year 2012, I decided to really get into traditional archery and hunting. I've never liked compounds, even when I wasn't an avid archer I just looked at compounds and said "thats so cheating, its a machine, if I'm gonna use 20th century technology with moving parts that do the work for me, with sights and a trigger I might as well use a gun." So I started deer hunting with an osage selfbow nearly halfway through deer season, had to do all my hunter education stuff online and get licensed and all that good stuff. So long story short, I'm accurate at target shooting out to 20 yards for deer kill zone sized targets and rabbit sized targets at around 12 yards. When I'm out roving I can smash cans and plastic soda bottles on the side of the road 4 out of 5 times at 5 to 12 yrds. Problem is, I missed 2 deer this season, dozens of rabbits, plus a couple squirrels, and a raccoon all between 5 & 20 yrds. And just today I had a shot, an easy shot, on a quail, not 2 yards away, it was seriously about 5', 6' at the most from the end of my arrow, and I missed over its back by less than half an inch, their were feathers on the arrow head. But it flew away unscathed. I don't know if its target panic or what because it only happens on live targets. It can't j