3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Do the expensive turkey decoys work better???  (Read 351 times)

Offline Joeabowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Do the expensive turkey decoys work better???
« on: May 05, 2013, 01:38:00 PM »
I am not an expert turkey hunter but I do like to hunt them.  I've had a few breif encounters this season that got me to question my decoys.  I use the cheap fold down foam hens...  This year I have had jakes, a Tom and a few different hens come in and none of them payed any attention to my decoys.  Thinking back over the years I can't say I've ever experienced a bird come in and pay attention to my decoys let alone beat one up or try to mount it like you see in the videos.  So, the question : Do the "life like" decoys work better?  Are they worth the money?  I'd like to hear some of your experiences.

Joe   :campfire:

Offline SheltonCreeker

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Do the expensive turkey decoys work better???
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 01:45:00 PM »
Joe,
I broke down and bought some DSD Dave Smith Decoys this year. I used alot of my cabelas points to make this purchase. I will say the 3rd trip out I had 2 toms come in and beat the crap out of my Jake decoy. It was a first for me. I dunno if it was because of the decoys but it was an awesome experience. I sure do like these decoys better than any I have ever had. So I guess to answer your question my opinion would be yes.
David
"Other things being equal, it is the man who shoots with his heart in his bow that hits the mark." Dr. Saxton Pope

Offline wislnwings

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 01:47:00 PM »