3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: new archer with an arrow question  (Read 424 times)

Offline Aric_W

• Trad Bowhunter
new archer with an arrow question
« on: June 07, 2013, 10:50:00 AM »
Hello all,  I am new to archery and have a question about arrow set up.  I was given a 75 # recurve by a friend at work.  I have also shot another friends 30 # recurve and can borrow the lighter bow for working on form.  I hope to eventually elk hunt with my 75 # recurve.  With a 29.5” draw I think i'm drawing closer to 80#.  From reading here it seems I want to get arrows up around 700 grains or so(9-10 grains per pound). I'm looking at easton gamegetters in 300 (2317) spine in a 31” length with steel broad head adaptors at 125 grains and 125 grain points, eventually using 125-130 grain broadheads, should get me pretty close to that.  Does that arrow have a stiff enough spine to handle that much weight up front?  The closest archery shop is at least an hour and a half away, and the other bowhunters I know all shoot compound.  Thanks for any suggestions

Aric

Online Jim Wright

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: new archer with an arrow question
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 11:06:00 AM »
Without seeming sarcastic, there is a reason you were given rather than sold a 75# recurve. Unless you are blessed with exceptional natural strength you would be well served by finding a recurve or longbow in the 40 to 45# @28" range to learn how to shoot. If your draw with a traditional bow is 29.5" that will put you shooting 45 to 50 #s which I.M.O. is plenty. Some end up shooting heavy bows and that's fine but most of us risk quickly developing form issues trying to learn how to shoot with a bow that is too heavy in draw.

Offline Jeff Strubberg

• Trad Bowhunter