3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: testors paint  (Read 191 times)

Offline Sockrsblur

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Lake Placid Ironman Triathlete 2011, 2012, 2018
testors paint
« on: June 14, 2013, 10:30:00 AM »
Ok guys this is my first time doing the simplest of cresting just to test the compatibility of my finish, paint, glue etc. I just opened the box of testors paint. What is the simplest/ best way to thin the paint considering im new to this? I would hate to goof a whole bottle over thinning it but don't want to waste it pulling it out. Im using a very little on 1/4"shafts for my nephews bday gift. I completed my first arrows yesterday from plain wood. It took me longer than I thought but what fun. Learning a lot as I go. Thanks for any tips. Jim
TGMM Family of the Bow
"Hunt Hard!" Uncle Bud
PBS Member

Offline WestAussie

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: testors paint
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2013, 10:45:00 AM »
this may seem odd...... but "window glass cleaner" the blue stuff, use it om my brushes and in my airgun, i use it like water, one small drop to 5ml paint,,, never any more

Offline TonyW

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2013, 11:45:00 AM »
Testor's acrylic or Testor's enamel?

Be careful!

Offline DennyK

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2013, 01:48:00 PM »
The Testors enamel is all I have ever used, no problems with Minwax Polycrylic Satin for the sealer. Bohning Fletch Tite either regular or Platinum is compatable with the Polycrylic. I tried the  Testors acrylic and did not care for it at all.
Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Offline Grey Taylor

• Trad Bowhunter