3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Season ending injury?  (Read 458 times)

Offline wapitirod

• Trad Bowhunter
Season ending injury?
« on: June 24, 2013, 02:18:00 AM »
I haven't posted in a few months with family stuff and my pistolsmith business as well as back surgery #8 and hernia surgery #2. I decided it was time to start shooting again but I've run into an issue and wanted to see if any of you have had this happen. I'll be seeing my doc shortly but my wife just changed jobs and she is my primary insurance over my medicare, fortunately it's a govt job so we only have to wait 30 days.  

I noticed last year when I started shooting traditional again my right pectorial muscle was sore as well as my right shoulder and back directly behind the peck.  I wrote it off to normal soreness and it seemed to mellow after the season. The problem I've had is 8 back surgeries in as many years and 17 surgeries in the past 15 years. I had quit shooting traditional because I was worried about my right wrist which has been opened up twice, once for carpal tunnel and then to remove three bones, reconnect the ligaments, remove one of the major nerve bundles and to be fused. The shoulder I had half a dozen tears repaired including bicep, labrial, rotator, tricep, and I had torn the sack that holds the fluid around the joint as well as some of the connective tissue. The biggest issue is I never gave my body time to really heal and regain some sort of conditioning.

To the point, earlier this spring I broke out my heaviest bow which is pulling around 80# and although I had the strength do draw it since I'm a big guy something gave. I've had pain in my right peck and around to the back and in the shoulder as before but this time it isn't getting better.