3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Shooting your heavy bows  (Read 446 times)

Offline buckeyebowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting your heavy bows
« on: July 12, 2013, 05:33:00 PM »
this question is for 65# plus shooters. I am wondering how long you guys can shoot before your back and shoulders begin to get tired? I am fairly new to shooting my heavy bow, but i notice that after about 12-15 or so arrows I am getting tired and my accurracy really starts to suffer. Sometimes I want to continue shooting even after I begin to feel fatigue and I know this is a bad thing to do because I get frustrated with bad shots... Just wanted some input from you guys on how your practice sessions go with the heavies. Thanks!

Offline TraditionalGuy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting your heavy bows
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2013, 06:00:00 PM »
Keep at it. I shoot a 65#er and it was really tough at first. I practiced so much, that I actually tore something in my shoulder after a 300+ arrow day. I developed a workout routine specifically designed for strengthening bow shooting muscles. Now I can shoot that same bow as easily and as effectively as any 45# bow without the hint of fatigue. The body gets used to things real fast. It's even better if you can shoot with either hand to help balance out the muscles, otherwise that can be an issue down the road.
“For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.”
H. L. Mencken

Offline stalkin4elk

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2013, 06:08:00 PM »
Lots of great info and training tips in this previous thread.

Heavy Bow Thread - Click Here