3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Maturing  (Read 591 times)

Offline threeunder

• Trad Bowhunter
Maturing
« on: July 14, 2013, 05:01:00 PM »
So how long did it take you to "mature" into who you are as a trad hunter/archer?

What I'm getting at is, I started shooting in 2006.  Only owned 2 longbows up until 2010, then started checking out some other bowmakers, designs, etc.

Last summer I switched from shooting a glove to a tab (mainly due to some finger pain I got from training up for my month with Miss Faith which was 10 lbs heavier than I normally shoot).  I stuck with the tab.

Now, this summer, I'm trying to get back to a glove only because I hate hunting with a tab, but do shoot more consistently with one.

I've pretty well settled on what bows I really like and what bows I just can't get along with.

I've "refound" my form at least twice now....LOL

I believe I shoot decently, definitely not on the level of many here, but my 6 month old Glendel buck's core has been filled in once with 'great stuff and now I'm getting back to having arrows pass through it quite often.  It was new 6 months ago.

Just wondering when I'm going to grow into an adult as a trad guy (I'm 44 right now...LOL).

Not sure if any of this makes sense, but it hit me today while shooting.  Similar to the trad journey thread a while back.

Thanks for reading my rambling.

How long did it take you to mature as a trad guy or at what "point" did you get there?
Ken Adkins

Never question a man's choice in bows or the quality of an animal he kills.  He is the only one who has to be satisfied with either of those choices.

Offline bobman

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Maturing
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2013, 05:20:00 PM »
I was 10, 1962

Offline threeunder

• Trad Bowhunter