3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Longbow case suggestions please.  (Read 425 times)

Offline toby

• Trad Bowhunter
Longbow case suggestions please.
« on: July 19, 2013, 07:49:00 AM »
I am just getting into longbows, and will be taking a couple out West on an elk hunt as well as traveling with them in my truck locally. I think I need a very sturdy travel cas for long distance and a protective, but soft case for short trips to protect the finish. I would appreciate suggestions for either DIY or manufactured ones.
Thanks
Toby
TOBY

Online Hermon

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Longbow case suggestions please.
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2013, 08:17:00 AM »
For the sturdy travel case, just make one out of pvc with a glue cap on one end and a threaded cap on the other.  Put your longbow in a sock and slip it into the pvc.

Offline David Mitchell

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2013, 08:20:00 AM »
I now use the longbow case sold by 3Rivers, but I used to use a telescoping fishing rod tube that worked nicely for one bow.  The 3Rivers case carries two.  Hermon's suggestion is also a good choice.
The years accumulate on old friendships like tree rings, during which time a kind of unspoken care and loyalty accrue between men.

Offline chase perry

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2013, 08:38:00 AM »
Hi Toby,