3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Wet Feathers  (Read 624 times)

Offline TrainingWheelsOff

• Trad Bowhunter
Wet Feathers
« on: July 21, 2013, 01:06:00 PM »
I didn't let the rain here in Louisiana today keep me from practicing.  But practice quickly went down hill as feathers got wet.  Is the extra weight on the nock end of the arrow causing a spine change or does the flattening of the feathers make tuning and/or form issues more pronounced?  I'm just a novice and experience inconsistency at times but most days I get good flight.  

FYI, shooting a 45# Das DX5 Longbow and arrows are 30" Axis 340s with 200 gr. points.

Offline katman

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Wet Feathers
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 02:01:00 PM »
I would say the later. How's the bareshaft flying? Shooting field points?
shoot straight shoot often

Offline wetfeathers

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 02:10:00 PM »
I also notice more problems when things get wet. I believe alot of things change.  Gripping a wet grip, releasing a slippery wet string, wet feathers off a wet shelf..... and so on.  I'm glad to hear that it didn't stop you from shooting though.
Love your kids.... spend time.  not money.

Christain Bowhunters of America

Offline Rick Richard

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 02:12:00 PM »
Definitely the later. It is amazing what feathers/vanes can do to correct bad form or incorrectly spined arrows.   With that said, how are they flying when bare shaft tuning?  Need to get it close to flying well in this manner, which should minimize the issues you are having when feathers are wet.

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 05:36:00 PM »