3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How many grains per pound for hunting?  (Read 586 times)

Offline arrowbuster

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
How many grains per pound for hunting?
« on: August 07, 2013, 08:48:00 PM »
I am fairly new to traditional hunting. I want to know why 10 grains per pound is the accepted weight. The reason I am asking is because with carbon arrows you just about have to put 300 grains up front to get that if you are shooting a 60 pound bow. How hard is it on a well made bow to shoot 8 gpp? Just want to know everyones thoughts on this.
AH ACS CX 60" 53@28
PITTSLEY PREDATOR 60" 56@28
CASCADE BRUSH HAWK 56" 49@28

Online Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
Re: How many grains per pound for hunting?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2013, 08:58:00 PM »
GPP doesn't mean much for hunting, IMO. Should be thinking of an arrow weight that's sufficient for the critter you're after.  Now at 8 gpp, you'll have a 480 grain arrow, which is plenty for most medium size critters.  However, it is getting a bit light for your bow.

The lighter the arrow, the closer you get to dry firing the bow.  Doesn't make any difference whether you're hunting or target shooting.  Go too light, and your bow is increasingly likely to fail.

Online Friend

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2013, 09:13:00 PM »
Quote - "How hard is it on a well made bow to shoot 8 gpp?"

The bowyer who built the bow should be the most reliable source to answer this.

Note: Some bows are not warrantied down to 8gpp.
>>----> Friend <----<<

My Lands… Are Where My Dead Lie Buried.......Crazy Horse

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2013, 09:16:00 PM »