3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Long shaft vs. shorter shaft  (Read 316 times)

Offline Arcobsessed

• Trad Bowhunter
Long shaft vs. shorter shaft
« on: August 22, 2013, 10:02:00 PM »
Just wondering what your thoughts are. I started shooting recurve about 3 years ago. I used the Easton guide and bought Easton Axis 500s and shot them practically full length. They bareshafted  and shot a broadhead OK. My question is - What are the advantages of a lighter spine/shorter arrow vs. a higher spine/longer arrow? I will be hunting deer with a new bow (BW PCH)that I have coming. It is 44 lbs @28 and my short little draw length is 26".

I am now using the 3 Rivers guide, similar to Stu Miller and it shows I can go both ways so long as I add more weight to the front of the 500 spine. Opinions on which is the best choice?

Offline Bear Heart

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Long shaft vs. shorter shaft
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2013, 10:04:00 PM »
What is your aiming method?
Traditional Bowhunters of Washington
PBS Associate Member
Jairus & Amelia's Dad
"Memories before merchandise!"

Offline Bear Heart

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 10:06:00 PM »
I like a long arrow.  I think it is a stable arrow.  If you gap shoot you will decrease your gap with a longer arrow.
Traditional Bowhunters of Washington
PBS Associate Member
Jairus & Amelia's Dad
"Memories before merchandise!"

Offline dhermon85

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2013, 10:07:00 PM »
Don't think there is a "best choice". Which ever tunes best, what weight you want on the killin end and overall weight. If you leave em long, you'll have a few more grains but probably not enough to notice.

Offline Mr. fingers

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2013, 10:26:00 PM »