3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What are they eating? (Deer that is)  (Read 207 times)

Offline Wolfshead

• Trad Bowhunter
What are they eating? (Deer that is)
« on: September 02, 2013, 10:45:00 AM »
We all know about hunting the Deer's food. Food like acorns and apples and such.

But, what else do they eat? What are the other things they feed on?

I will be hunting on public land in a wild life management area in the Northeast near Central NY.
There are no farms or crop fields nearby. It is just big woods.
There are some red oaks sparsely situated in the areas I have scouted. I have not seen any apple trees.
I have seen a lot of sign (not really sure of significant trails, I'm still learning)
What else would be food for the Deer?
What would the browse be in this area that they would like?
Would would they be feeding on other than just the acorns?
Something I can look for to help me to find them.
What have you found that they like?
Thanks in advance
Bama Expediton Hunter Hybrid Longbow
58", 52# @ 27"
Bama Hunter Longbow
64", 45# @ 27"
"You only need sit still long enough, in some attractive spot in the woods, that all it's inhabitants may exhibit themselves to you by turns"
Henry David Thoreau

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: What are they eating? (Deer that is)
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2013, 11:06:00 AM »
Look for cut over areas or woods edgers where succulant vegitation grows.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Izzy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2013, 11:10:00 AM »
Jewel weed, check wet ares. Theyre loving it now but Im not sure it will be here 10/01. Diet constantly changes though.

Offline Bear Heart

• Trad Bowhunter