3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: A few questions  (Read 259 times)

Offline coyote30

• Trad Bowhunter
A few questions
« on: September 06, 2013, 12:44:00 AM »
I'm new to traditional so I have a few questions. I keep reading different things about a bow being tillered for split finger or 3 under. Does this matter for a bear Kodiak hunter? I shoot much better 3 under but the bow seems louder no matter what brace height I'm trying at the time. I have shot at 7.5 to 8.5 inches and it seems to be the same noise level. Does anyone have a recommendation for a good brace height for this bow? Also when I shoot split finger my top finger is putting down pressure on the arrow nock (the main reason I stopped shooting split) is there a fix for this? I know it is a few questions but i'm in the set up phase and learning everything new after shooting compounds for 20 years. Any help is appreciated thanks.

Offline LB_hntr

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: A few questions
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 12:56:00 AM »
if you are having a custom bow made you can have them tiller it for 3 fingers under. with a mass produced bow you cant change the tiller but many people shoot 3 fingers under with out any problems or noticeable difference. Shoot what ever method works best for you. the reason bowyers will custom tiller for 3 fingers under is that style puts a little more pressure on the lower limb. Again this is not a big deal and tons of people shoot 3 under with normal tiller.
  To fix the downward pressure on a split finger style, keep your top finger a little higher than pressed hard on the nock. also keep your draw arm elbow in a straight line and parallel with your bow arm. If your elbow raises up you will usually put excessive pressure on your top finger.