3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow question  (Read 258 times)

Offline jarcher38

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow question
« on: September 26, 2013, 12:20:00 AM »
Ive been shooting trad for a few years now and enjoy it more and more every year. I'm pretty close to just settin my compounds in the corner for the year. I have a question however, one of my recurves is an older Grizzly marked 40#x. I believe it's around 42-43lbs. I am shooting 30.5 carbons that are .420 spine. I draw the bow to 28". My question is I get terrible flight shooting cock vane out but get superb flight cock vane in. I don't might mind shooting it with cock vane in but it's kinda hard on my feathers and strike plate. Also I fairly new to tuning a trad bow. Any help opinions would be great.

Thanks Joey

Offline bowhuntingrn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow question
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 12:51:00 AM »
Somebody will be along shortly that knows far more than I, but I would guess that you're stiff (unless you're really frontloading that shaft) and that shooting cock feather in is giving you a little extra "cushion". I've got a 43#@28" hybrid that I draw to 28", shooting Easton FMJ 500's at I think about 29.5" (been a while since I shot or measured them) with 50 grain insert and 125 grain tips that shoot pretty darn well. Good luck and keep at it!
"The first 40 years of childhood are always the hardest"

Offline SEMO_HUNTER

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 01:49:00 AM »