3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How did you get started?  (Read 1291 times)

Offline VictoryHunter

• Trad Bowhunter
How did you get started?
« on: September 27, 2013, 12:43:00 AM »
How did y'all get started with Traditional archery? I have been hunting for four years, three of which have been with traditional equipment. After my first season ended I picked up one of the big name hunting dvd's to pass some time during the off season and in it's special features section was none other than Fred Bear's Badlands Bucks video! Prior to watching that video I didn't even know who Fred Bear was let alone that people still hunted with traditional equipment. Needless to say, from that moment on I was obsessed. I went a bought a Bear Grizzly with all the trimmings, taught myself to shoot, and practiced all summer. I ended up making my first traditional kill that same year, it's the doe in my profile pic. I was just thinking about that today and how much that one little thing changed the way I view hunting, and the outdoors. It changed my life in a profound way. So, now I want to hear y'alls stories!
There is a place for all God's creatures....right next to the potatoes and gravy.
>>>----------------->

Offline Hot Hap

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How did you get started?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 12:44:00 AM »
I got started in 1958 when I was 14 years old. A friend I graduated with had a Bear bow, don't remember the model, that he let me use and that was it. Took me a couple of years to get my own bow. I think it was 1961 when I got my first bow. Started hunting big game in 1966.
I often think of the lad who got me going. He's dead now. Thanks Tom!
Hap

Offline Nala

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2013, 01:07:00 AM »