3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Lakota quiver build-a-long! COMPLETE!  (Read 4838 times)

Offline adeeden

• Trad Bowhunter
Lakota quiver build-a-long! COMPLETE!
« on: November 24, 2006, 09:57:00 AM »
Well, I have been wanting to do this for a while now after following along on other build-a-longs and have finally got some free time to get this started.

Let me start off by stating that I am far from an expert on this but have made several of these and I'll do my best to explain everything in detail. This will be my first build-a-long so please be patient!

This will be a Lakota or plains style quiver that will hold about 5 arrows comfortably. As for materials I'll be using some leather about 1/16" thick and 30" by 16" for the body, Contact cement, Artifical sinew, small pieces of tooling leather for reinforcement, and Various beads and teeth for Decoration.

First off cut a 30" long by 16" high piece of leather. Use a carpenters square to keep the corners square!

"I would rather be lucky then good, any day!"

Offline snag

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Lakota quiver build-a-long! COMPLETE!
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2006, 10:01:00 AM »
I'm looking forward to this adeeden. I have made one backquiver that turned out pretty good. So I am far from an expert. Is 1/16" leather what they would call 6 oz.? or would it be lighter?
Isaiah 49:2...he made me a polished arrow and concealed me in his quiver.

Offline adeeden

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2006, 10:06:00 AM »