3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: how long before your first kill?  (Read 564 times)

Offline bigb3303

• Trad Bowhunter
how long before your first kill?
« on: October 14, 2013, 02:31:00 PM »
So I am not a new hunter, I have killed 17 whitetails, seven bucks, and ten does. I have killed two pope and young bucks in illinois, and several turkeys also. All however were with compound or rifle. I have now Layed those down for the recurve. I have been hunting with my recurve for 6 years with no kills. Only two shots, both at turkeys way to far, but It sill felt good to watch the arrow fly... Any advice for keeping up the hunt? I am not giving up, but am geting wore down. I see deer, and am not having them blow out, just having trouble geting withing 15yards on the ground. I want my first kill to be on the ground, not from my climber. Any advice would be appreciated, I just have to vent, as i literly do  not know anyone other than me who shoots traditional.

Offline RedShaft

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: how long before your first kill?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2013, 02:43:00 PM »
Get up in the tree get A few kills n your feet wet then get back on the ground. I made some drasti changes this year. I don't want to look back on my hunting career and say I tried hard but didn't get it together. I want success. A life of hunting victories.
Rough Country.. The Hunters Choice

Offline KodiakMag

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2013, 02:47:00 PM »
Originally posted by bigb3303: