3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: First 3-D...stuffed on Humble Pie  (Read 449 times)

Offline Oliverstacy

• Trad Bowhunter
First 3-D...stuffed on Humble Pie
« on: September 09, 2007, 09:42:00 PM »
Well...I not even sure where to start.  I started shooting traditional this year shooting 3-4 times a week since March and have been humbled yet again.  My friend said he has never seen my so worked up (nervous) before a shot.

All practice has been under 20 yards and most is around 12-15 yards, I know my limits and practice has been from the ground.  Now the first shot was off a large platform and around 23-25 yards and hit high in the shoulder a bit forward...nervous.  Second was a miss low...hummmm why again did I want to do this.

Well the average was closer to 20-22 yards for the targets from the traditional stakes and as I've stated I'm more comfortable at a shorter distance.

I shot a 169 with 4 misses, a lot of 5's.  Just couldn't put it all together.  It's easy when you in the back yard and mess an arrow up you can just shot another two or three to correct the form mistakes...not here and not in the woods on hunts. This did nothing for my confidence at all.  When I start my shooting I always try to make the best shot possible on the first arrow and usually put it in the 3" circle from 13-15 yards.  I'd say 85% of the time I can hit it or be within an inch of it on my first arrow.