3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Top notch penetration by a Grizzly  (Read 355 times)

Offline Warchild

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Top notch penetration by a Grizzly
« on: November 01, 2013, 08:44:00 AM »
I have been hunting with the Grizzly 160 grain single bevel head for the first time ever this season. I have never tried a single bevel of any sort before. I must say that I am super impressed with it. The head is super easy to sharpen and flies as well as a field point. This is the best flying broadhead that I have ever shot.....by far. Now for the "meat" of the post (pun intended). Recently my hunting partner and I spent the week in the Upper Peninsula deer hunting. On Oct 25th, within an hour of each other, we both shot nice mature Does. This was the very first animal that I have ever shot with the Grizzly and I am lucky that I was shooting them because as is sometimes the case, I pulled my shot left and this caused a forward hit on the Doe. Thank god she was moving from my right to left as the opposite direction would have caused a gut shot & nightmare. I hit her a little forward and the head crashed through her left shoulder blade, ribs on both sides and the far shoulder right where it drops into the leg. This is exactly where you do not want to hit a deer. The Grizzly traveled through as much bone as you can possibly hit on a whitetails body and still penetrated 10" beyond the leg/shoulder bone. I was shooting a 535 grain douglas fir arrow tipped with the 160 grn Grizzly out of my 51# Schafer recurve and I am sure that this arrow & head combo saved me on this shot. The deer ran less than 40 yards as the wind pipe was severed on the way through, and piled up. I dont know much about the company that has bought and impro