3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Custom Bows?  (Read 536 times)

Offline Ozark Wookie

• Trad Bowhunter
Custom Bows?
« on: September 10, 2007, 03:39:00 PM »
Guys,

I am doing some research on what type of custom recurve to go with. I am considering a Kohannah Hunter (or maybe a bob lee)for my lower end, a Great Plains Model B takedown for the median and a Black Widow PSA takedown for the higher end. One reason for considering BW and Great plains is because i am only about 7 hrs away from Great Plain Co and about 30 minutes from BW Co. Do you guys have any opinions good or bad on any of these bows? I am fairly new to Td archery although i have compound hunted for 15 years. I am wanting to get a recurve that will fit me and my demnsions. I shoot an old damon howatt right now  45lb at 28" (62" amo) but i have around a 31 inch draw so the bow stacks pretty good. I figure i would like to have around a 64 inch bow that pulls around 55lbs when i get it to my anchor point. Any opinions?  :help:

Offline LBR

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Custom Bows?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2007, 03:45:00 PM »
My opinion would be to shoot a while before spending a lot on a custom bow.  The reason being is most of us (myself included) didn't know what we wanted in a custom bow (some still don't!) until we shot a while.  I waited 4 years, and after I ordered my first custom there were things I wished I'd done differently.

Chad

Offline MikeM

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2007, 03:48:00 PM »