3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Shooting recurve without arrow rest  (Read 462 times)

Offline Kaluza

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting recurve without arrow rest
« on: November 07, 2013, 09:57:00 AM »
Hi guys,

I'm new to traditional archery and recently ordered a Samick Sage recurve. It is going to be delivered tomorrow. However, when I ordered it I forgot to purchase an arrow rest and plate. I ordered them later and they will not be here until Monday.

My question is, can I shoot my bow without the arrow rest and plate? It's going to be torture to have to wait until Monday to shoot if I have to just let my bow sit there unused all weekend.

Offline KentuckyTJ

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting recurve without arrow rest
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 10:02:00 AM »
Go get some velcro and use the soft side.
www.zipperbows.com
The fulfillment of your hunt is determined by the amount of effort you put into it  >>>---->

Offline kat

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2013, 10:05:00 AM »
Originally posted by KentuckyTJ:
X2-  Many people use velcro as replacements.
Ken Thornhill

Offline Kaluza

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2013, 10:09:00 AM »
What about for the plate? How necessary is that?

Offline D.J. Carr

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2013, 10:12:00 AM »
Velcro rest is all I use
An archer tries to find ways to shoot further more accurately, a bowhunter tries to get as close as possible to ensure his shot is accurate.

Offline pumatrax

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2013, 10:24:00 AM »
every Sage I've bought includes the rest and side plate....I've bought (and sold) ten of them so far...

Offline FerretWYO

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter