3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Building Hang on Tree Stands  (Read 474 times)

Offline twostrings

• Trad Bowhunter
Building Hang on Tree Stands
« on: November 08, 2013, 05:23:00 PM »
Hey Do-It-Yourself'ers,

Years ago, probably 10+ years ago, I came across a set of plans to build your own hang on tree stands out of wood. I know it sounds a little sketchy and unsafe, but from my point of view, they were pretty solid. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get my hands on them because they cost 20-30 bucks, and as a poor college student I just couldn't justify spending the cash.

Does anyone currently build your own hang on tree stands? If so, any chance you could point me in the right direction to building my own?

Thanks!
Matthew

Offline Cootling

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Building Hang on Tree Stands
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2013, 08:15:00 PM »
I used to build them.  They worked well.  Still, I feel a lot safer with my Lone Wolf stands and will not use wood again.  Can't afford even one failure!

Offline Gen273

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2013, 08:23:00 PM »
Just say No, to homemade treestands. Not trying to be mean, but I have always been afraid of homemade wooden stands.
Jesus Saves (ROM 10:13)

Offline tracker12

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2013, 08:23:00 PM »
No home made for me.
T ZZZZ

Online glenbo

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2013, 08:36:00 PM »
Love to make my own gear,but I can buy hang ons for thirty bucks at the end of the season . With ratchet straps. If you enjoy doing it I say good for you. By the time it takes to obtain material, fabricate,then paint,thirty bucks is a wash.

Offline bigb3303

• Trad Bowhunter