3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: questions about tuning a recurve bow  (Read 871 times)

Offline Larrydawg

• Trad Bowhunter
questions about tuning a recurve bow
« on: November 14, 2013, 06:58:00 PM »
Im new here but have been shooting arrows since age 6, im 51 now. pretty much self taught. I can tune and carve a osage long bow but have never done much tuning on recurves, I have a shakespere ocala, 50# @28,ive owned it since age 16 and hunted with it for a few years and then gave up on it. I could never get it dialed in with the arrows I have, they are Easton gamegetters 2016, I believe they are too soft of spine.
 my left eye is dominant and I shoot left handed, the arrows group to the right, if I remember right that indicates too soft of spine.
 any of you guys have experience with this set up??
 any help would be appreciated.
thanks
LarryDawg  :archer2:
Bear Kodiak Magnum 50th anniversary 50#@28in.
Shakespere Ocala 50@28 in (1972)
Locksley Puma 45#@28 (1952)
several osage Bows, and every recurve bow ive owned since I started archery at age 6 (45 yrs)

Offline Prairie Drifter

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: questions about tuning a recurve bow
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2013, 07:02:00 PM »
If your lefty your arrows are stiff. Add more point weight.
Maddog Bows (16)
Rocky Mnt Recurves(2)
Sierra Blanca Bows (2)
Mike B.

Offline JamesKerr

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2013, 07:03:00 PM »
If your arrows are grouping right of where you want to hit and you're shooting left handed then the arrow is too stiff.
James Kerr

Offline damascusdave

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2013, 10:07:00 PM »