3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New to Archery. Suggestions for Black Widow bow purchase?  (Read 583 times)

Offline knot klipper

• Trad Bowhunter
New to Archery. Suggestions for Black Widow bow purchase?
« on: September 11, 2007, 08:13:00 AM »
Here's my background.  I'm an experienced Whitetail deer hunter living in SW NY state.  I've been hunting with a single shot TC Encore for the past 6 years and use it for rifle/shotgun/ML by changing barrels.  I have two wall mount bucks that were both one shot kills and the time is right to move on to archery.  Other than shooting bows a couple of times, I have NO experience with archery.  None.

I want to go the traditional route and plan on practing for a full year before actually hunting.  Bought one of those rubber band things to strengthen the arm and plan on taking this very serious.  Really like the Black Widow and narrowed selection down to Recurve PSR II and PSR V bows.  I would appreciate opinions and help with some questions:

1) Draw weight.  Minimum for deer?  I'll be using this bow for whitetail only.  I prefer lower weight draw and I think NY has a 40# minimum.  I was thinking about going with a 50#.  Too much?  Too little?  Just right?  I really plan on practicing before I hunt and practice the "Let it walk" principle if the shot is not ideal.  I've done it many times with gun hunting.

2) Ironwood or Birch?  Worth the extra money?  Plan on using this for as long as I can pull the string.  Really only want to buy one bow.  Takedown or One piece?  

3) accesories.  Quivers.  Attached or detached? Hip or Shoulder?  I'm leaning towards a detached quiver.  Opinions on this one very important to me.