3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Hickory Stave Pithy  (Read 308 times)

Offline hickry

• Trad Bowhunter
Hickory Stave Pithy
« on: September 11, 2007, 08:43:00 PM »
Well, I'm not sure I have this picture thing figured out... maybe this will work.  I cut a hickory a couple of weeks ago, and had it quarter sawn.  I'm pretty new to all of this and have a question for the self-bowyers out there.  Please take a look at the cross-section of this stave.  I pulled the bark back and intended to use the outside as the back of my bow(s), but it looks like that there's a lot of "pithy"-ness it the outer section.  Also, even the rings toward the center look pretty thin.  Can anyone give me any feedback on whether this may make a bow?  Should I back it?  Any help would GREATLY be appreciated.
Thanks
Alek

Offline Osagetree

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hickory Stave Pithy
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2007, 09:32:00 PM »
Never used hickory,,, now I'm kinda glad. That is "pithy"!

Don't get discouraged though,, someone else will chime in. It might be okay?
>>--TGMM--> Family of the Bow

Offline KILLER B

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2007, 09:49:00 PM »
I have some nice hickory that has no pith in it what so ever. Also the very first self bow I had made was from hickory with no pith. You might just have a bad tree for whatever reasons. I would try it though and back it with bamboo. Worst case scenario is it breaks.
Sticks and stones break deer bones.
One final word -Ramalamashamjam-

Offline arrowslinger22

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2007, 10:01:00 PM »