3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: letting them walk  (Read 473 times)

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
letting them walk
« on: December 05, 2013, 09:40:00 AM »
As many of you heard, I retired a few months ago.  I had been working for a federal agency for the last 36 years, a lot of it in travel status, or involved in "stuff" that did not allow me to just pick up and go hunting whenever I wanted.  Now, I got to go, as much as I could, but it had always carried a bit of need or urgency with it.  Not sure I can get off again this week,   shoot shoot shoot.

I hunt public properties almost exclusively.  I have a favorite that includes mostly marshland with some uplands too.  I like being there, deer or not.

In the past, with my self imposed urgency, I tended to shoot what came by and thank the Gods for that opportunity.

This year, I shot a doe right away, then waited for an opportunity at a larger buck.  So far that has not happened, but in the interim, I let a lot of deer walk.  I am talking deer inside of 15 yards and half inside of 10 yards.  Many of those, including 3 smallish bucks, were within 10 (or less) yards while I was on the ground in my ghillie suit or Asbel plaid wool.

I am still a bit overwhelmed by letting the deer walk, and by not filling my SD tag or my MI tag (yet) because of it, but it was a neat experience, and I got to hunt that much more. Lots of neat things to see in the woods when you slow down and watch it.

Still a few weeks of season left.  May still fill a tag or two.  For certain, I will be out in the woods again as soon as all that orange goes away.

ChuckC

Offline centaur

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: letting them walk
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2013, 09:59:00 AM »