3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Question on Wood arrows...Problem tapered shafts?...  (Read 438 times)

Offline green valley gobbler

• Trad Bowhunter
Question on Wood arrows...Problem tapered shafts?...
« on: January 02, 2014, 07:59:00 PM »
Hello,
I am somewhat new to Traditional archery and have switched from aluminum to wood shafts.  I recently purchased a few Douglas Fir tapered shafts, tapered down to 5/16.  I am having a problem getting the nocks to fit (5/16 nocks), it seems the shaft is tapered too much causing the nock to not fit snug???  Not sure if there is a solution to this or something I can do to make the nocks fit.  I thought about shortening the shafts from the nock end to compensate for the what appears to be less than 5/16 inch taper. Shafts are full length and have a few coats of thin laquer applied.  Thanks in advance.

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Question on Wood arrows...Problem tapered shafts?...
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 08:21:00 PM »
A lot of times the very tip of the taper needs to be cut off to allow nocks to fit well. Maybe 1/16 inch.
United Bowhunters of Mo
Comptons
PBS
NRA
VET
"A man shares his Buffalo". Ed Pitchkites

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 08:27:00 PM »
Thanks for the advice Macbow but I cut about 1/2 inch off the back of the arrow, re-tapered for nock and still no fit.  Nock will not fit snug and cannot get any type of straight fit.

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 08:31:00 PM »
When arrows are tapered, the angles you get for nock tapers are not quite the same.  Maybe check that out and play with adjusting the angle a bit.  How are you grinding / cutting the Nock tapers ?

ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter