3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: new recurve shooter looking for tips  (Read 387 times)

Offline Uncle Barfuss

• Trad Bowhunter
new recurve shooter looking for tips
« on: January 31, 2014, 09:43:00 PM »
I am new to traditional bow hunting I am shooting a samick sage that is 55 @ 28 my draw is 28. I am wondering what arrows would shoot the best?

Offline saltwatertom

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: new recurve shooter looking for tips
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2014, 10:09:00 PM »
If it was me, I would buy some Gold Tip 55/75's and tune them to you and the bow. Go for about 200 / 250 grains up front and tune for good flight by cutting at the shafts till you get good flight (starting with full length shafts). (see tuning threads and advice for tuning )   My source is Big Jim's and he or one of his staff will help you with advice on tuning , etc.    :thumbsup:
"There is always luck about, for those willing to look for it"

Offline Bear Heart

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2014, 10:37:00 PM »
The best advise I have is to join a club or trad organization.  Find some good guys to shoot with and learn from.
Traditional Bowhunters of Washington
PBS Associate Member
Jairus & Amelia's Dad
"Memories before merchandise!"

Offline onewhohasfun

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2014, 05:55:00 AM »
Welcome Dalen, I think #40 or #45 lbs. is better to start with. Good advise above. I can recommend Fred Asbells books on instinctive shooting. Just click on the Hunter Image site at top left of this page.
Tom

Offline KeganM

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2014, 09:09:00 AM »