3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What is your preferred arrow finish ?  (Read 752 times)

Offline Brianlocal3

• Trad Bowhunter
What is your preferred arrow finish ?
« on: February 20, 2014, 10:12:00 PM »
Like the title says.
What is YOUR preferred arrow finish? Why?

I really like Formbys Highgloss. Why..... I have been using this finish for a longtime in my woodworking projects , I have an understanding of it and have perfected my application process. It is nothing more than a wiping varnish, but alas they all seem to respond and work differently and I just have my system down with it.

I am new to wood arrows so I have been experimenting with different finishes, and application processes.  I have tried dipping , which I love the fact that two dips is a nice glass like coat , but I'm still sticking with my Formbys.  I can have a good thick coat on in two days time and am happy with it.

So tell me about your finish
JD Berry Taipan (original) 53@28 62”
Cascade mountain Brush Hawk 53@28 56”

Offline KeganM

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What is your preferred arrow finish ?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 10:21:00 PM »
My buddy Tony used Massey style epoxy finish (thin two ton with acetone) on his wooden arrows, and I was incredibly impressed. When I shot wood I used 3Rivers water based, but it was a mess. Wish I'd tried the epoxy. His arrows took a lot more abuse without needing any touch ups, and when he did he just wiped some on the spot and in twenty minutes it was good to go. I tried the finish on a selfbow, and was incredibly impressed with how durable and easy to apply it was(I did wax it afterwards for a really water tight finish though).

Online Stumpkiller

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter