3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: post op shoulder surgery  (Read 456 times)

Offline nashoba

• Trad Bowhunter
post op shoulder surgery
« on: February 22, 2014, 08:17:00 PM »
I was wondering if any of the other Trad Gang members have had surgery on their bow arm shoulder and what their experience was, when were you able to resume shooting? I had the second surgery on my bow arm shoulder on 12/16/13 I just started shooting my wife's 37lbs long bow I'm only getting off about 10 shots before I'm fatigued and am done for the day. How long was it before you got back to regular hunting weight bows and longer shooting sessions.

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: post op shoulder surgery
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2014, 08:30:00 PM »
It has been years ago. About the same time in as you on starting to shoot a light bow. About 6 weeks after surgery I was shooting 30 pounds. I would shoot several sessions through the day but only about 10 shots.
With the exercises given to me in post op therapy I think it as 3 months to work up to 55 pounds.

Unfortunately now my string shoulder has me sidelined. Have been doing light weight moving excercises and waiting on the VA to see what is next.
United Bowhunters of Mo
Comptons
PBS
NRA
VET
"A man shares his Buffalo". Ed Pitchkites

Offline snapper1d

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2014, 08:37:00 PM »
You guys are lucky.My brother is a doctor and he had rotor cuff surgery over a year ago and still has not gotten back to normal yet.

Offline nashoba

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2014, 08:47:00 PM »