3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Good broad heads for hogs  (Read 1109 times)

Offline robin

• Trad Bowhunter
Good broad heads for hogs
« on: March 15, 2014, 09:12:00 AM »
Hi,I have been hunting hogs for close to 10 years now. My set up is 50lbs long bow and two blade broad heads.

I normally shoot from confident distance of 15 yards in. Most of my shots are aim at the lungs and low. Most shots achieve pass through both lungs.

I am really frustrated as  I have very low recovery rate. Maybe 2 out of 10 being shot.    I track most of my shots to normally 30 to 50 yards, there on I have. Very little or no blood trial to follow through.

Can some one share with me if there is anything wrong with my setup of am I using the wrong BH. I heard that using 3 blade BH will result in better blood trial, I have also tried that but have poor penetration maybe due to using three blade setup.

Can some one advise me how I can increase my rate of recovery. ? Oh , I normally shoot from the ground stalking and behind a blind.

Thanks for your help and advise. RT

Offline last arrow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Good broad heads for hogs
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2014, 09:24:00 AM »
Never hunted hogs but you can't go wrong with a Grizzly broadhead as I don't think you can find a head that penetrates better.  I agree that three blades with a 50 lb bow may not give the penetration you want on a large animal.  Once you have settled on a head, sharpness and tuning are critical.
"all knowledge is good. All knowledge opens doors. Ignorance is what closes them." Louis M. Profeta MD

"We must learn to see and accept the whole truth, not just the parts we like." - Anne-Marie Slaughter

Michigan Traditional Bowhunters
TGMM "Family of the Bow"

Offline Guru

• Trad Bowhunter