3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bear Shot placement  (Read 368 times)

Offline JNewman

• Trad Bowhunter
Bear Shot placement
« on: March 16, 2014, 03:51:00 PM »
So spring bear season is just around the corner, and since this is my first time going for bear just had some questions about shot placement.  I have been looking at the photo's that members of tradgang have provided and it seems to me that midline straight up from the back edge of the front leg gives the highest margin for success?  Am I right? or should I focus more tight to the shoulder, above the front leg? I will be on the ground spot and stalk

Offline wingnut

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bear Shot placement
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 03:54:00 PM »
You are looking at a football between the elbows.  so come up a couple of inches from the elbow and let the air out.  It's the same as a hog.

Mike
Mike Westvang

Offline JNewman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2014, 06:40:00 PM »
Thanks Mike

I focus on that pocket abouve the elbow on deer and elk, Just needed to know it was the same for bears

Jesse

Offline D.Ellis

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2014, 12:03:00 AM »
You have quite a bit of leeway to shoot further back on a black bear. The lungs go back quite a way. Do not crowd the shoulder knuckle, and keep the shots reasonably close. They are not very deep top to bottom, so errors in elevation can cost you.