3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: QUIVER INSERTS  (Read 346 times)

Offline Mike Tomano

• Trad Bowhunter
QUIVER INSERTS
« on: April 10, 2014, 02:23:00 AM »
I've been shooting traditional bows for forty years. The overwhelming majority of trad-archers I know prefer a bow without quiver inserts drilled into the riser. Quiver inserts often drive down the price of a vintage bow, as well. Why then, does Bear insist on making them standard on their bows. Seems to me they could market a great wrap quiver with the Bear logo raised in the leather hood and sell the snot out of them. There ya go, Bear...free idea. Run with it.

>>---MT--->
"If you're not working to protect hunting, then you are working to destroy it." - Fred Bear

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
Re: QUIVER INSERTS
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 01:48:00 PM »
Don't know if an overwhelming majority don't like quiver inserts, but certainly some don't.  I rather like them. I have a quiver of my own design similar to a side-mount Selway that works great on my Bear TDs. I much prefer the side bolt on quiver to slide-on or strap on quivers on Bear TDs.

Given the construction of the Bear TD riser, the two-pieces of slide-on or wrap on quivers end up being pretty far apart, particularly on B risers. This causes them to hold the fletched ends of the arrows close together, where they often touch each other and make noise at the shot. Of course, this is an issue with any long risered bows and slip-on or wrap on two-piece quivers.

I suppose Bear might consider making the inserts an option rather than standard.  Initially might satisfy more customers that way.

Offline jeff w

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2014, 06:50:00 PM »