3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Strange how things work.......  (Read 506 times)

Offline cmh

• Trad Bowhunter
Strange how things work.......
« on: April 11, 2014, 11:33:00 PM »
For many years I had a really good job as a journeyman pipefitter and master plumber. As of Christmas last year I had been layed for a year and a half. Now Dad started me out pulling a string at the age of four and I was hooked off of a borrowed longbow. I had my first recurve (Darton) at the age of five. When I got old enough I started shooting his Bear Kodiak Hunter until I was fourteen. I mowed yards and did whatever I could do until I nought a Golden Eagle Falcon in 1984...... a year later Dad and Mom gave a a Hoyt Huntmasterfor Christmas.  2013 was the absolute worst year in my life. Less than three weeks worth of work, I lost a house I was buying on contract thru theft and deception, and I had become a lover of firearms as well. By Christmas after over a year of being layed off I had sold all of my firearms which was pretty impressive. I finally left the trade as a union pipefitter/plumber the day after Christmas with a new employer.  I lost just about everything I owned of value....... I had some beautiful rifles, shotguns and handguns....... They all left to new homes. I had my first recurve, my first wheel bow, my Hoyt....... And a month ago Dad gave me the old Bear Kodiak Hunter he had that I shot as a kid.  The Darton is a child's bow........ It's a relic. The wheel now is another relic due to the abuse suffered by the the archery shop here in town (Gerts Archery that butchered it making a new string for it. My huntmaster the laminations seem to be separating so I can't shoot..... And Dads ols Bear..... Well he kept it in the attic and I am afraid to s