3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: VIEWPOINT-Elitist Attitude  (Read 1682 times)

Offline VA Bowbender

• Trad Bowhunter
VIEWPOINT-Elitist Attitude
« on: April 14, 2014, 08:59:00 PM »
I will probably get jumped all over for this but I have to express what I'm seeing.

I've been shooting recurves for over 50 years. When I started there was no  "traditional" archery we were all just Bowhunters or Archers. As compounds came into their own there became an elitist attitude among them where they looked down at the recurve and longbow shooters. They also developed somewhat of a snobby attitude toward each other. Now I see a lot of admiration for what we can do with our bows.

Now what I'm seeing on different forums is a complete reversal of roles. The "traditional" shooters are developing the same attitude toward the high tech archers and even among the ranks of traditional shooters.

Now I do have to say that when I go to some of the various rendezvous there still exists a tight camaraderie.

If we are to maintain what we all love to do, shoot arrows at things, shouldn't we try to find a more common ground?  Or the famous quote "can't we all just get along"?  

How do you feel about this? Have you seen the same?  Why?

Try to keep it a civil discussion.
Bows, Broadheads & Backstraps

Offline pamike

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: VIEWPOINT-Elitist Attitude
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2014, 09:10:00 PM »