3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: HH Southeastern Classic - Rookie  (Read 524 times)

Offline Cavscout9753

• Trad Bowhunter
HH Southeastern Classic - Rookie
« on: April 23, 2014, 08:11:00 PM »
So I have begun planting the seeds in my wife's ear about me and perhaps my oldest son (9) driving to the the HH SEC this June in McCalla Alabama, (I live at Ft Benning/Phenix City Al). This would be my first large step deeper into the Trad world. I have never really spoken to, hunted with, or shot with other trad shooters. I've been dabbling in it for a few years though. Last deer season was actually my first trad only season. Didn't tag one but didn't mind a bit. Had some excellent hunts and have no intentions of ever going in the woods with any other weapon again. We have plenty of pigs to practice on all year long (sorry, that sounds cold, I don't mean practice as in a pig is somehow a sub-standard quarry - quite the opposite. Only that there's less of an emotional attachment to them). Anyways, I was wondering what I could expect as far as these type of things go. I expect the usual Trad crowd standards - good people, not arrogant, helpful, fun, down to earth people, but what else? Are these large events with multiple things going on? A lot of vendors? Different outdoor products? I think my son would enjoy it, maybe re-ignite the archery bug in him. You know how young kids can be, every week something else is competeing for his attention. Any insights or pointers anyone may have experienced either from this particular shoot or a similar one would be great. I know its a HH classic, but Im currently a recurve guy, I hope that doesn't matter. In fact, I would love to walk away from my first shoot with a nice souvenir, like say... a new bow. Haha tha