3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Off balanced bow? Please help.  (Read 270 times)

Offline Dorado

• Trad Bowhunter
Off balanced bow? Please help.
« on: May 17, 2014, 07:50:00 PM »
just got this new (to me) 1958 Bear Polar #60, and I've got a question about it. I haven't had a chance to shoot it yet, draws smooth and feels good, but I've noticed that the upper and lower limbs seem to look out of balance. The upper limb seems to be farther from the string than the lower. I took my bow square and measured it. At peak the upper limb is 8 7/8" away from the string, lower 8 1/4". Is this normal? I know I might be picky but I'm a contractor (and ocd perfectionist) and things like this bug me as they usually mean somethings off. So, is this supposed to be like this or is something wrong? I'll upload pictures for you to see.  
Samick Sage 35#
Bear Polar 59#@29

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
Re: Off balanced bow? Please help.
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2014, 08:19:00 PM »
Most production bows will have about 1/4 inch positive tiller, i.e., the top limb will be about 1/4-inch further from the string when measured at the fadeout than the bottom limb. Yours is 5/8 inch positive tiller.  That's out of whack.  Not much you can do about it other than retiller by weakening the bottom limb a little.  It will shoot as it is, but because the limbs are a bit out of tiller, hand shock will probably be a little more. Brace height might also be a bit high.

Offline South MS Bowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2014, 08:20:00 PM »
Stuart,