3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Why is My SUPPORT Arm NOT Getting Any Stronger??  (Read 416 times)

Offline Nala

• Trad Bowhunter
Why is My SUPPORT Arm NOT Getting Any Stronger??
« on: September 21, 2007, 07:56:00 PM »
Hey all,

I have a problem that I am hoping someone can give me some ideas about.

I haven't shot a bow in a LONG time up until this year.  I wanted to get back into the sport so I bought myself a WARF recurve.  I knew I would have to go light on the limbs so I got some 45 pound limbs to go on her.  I started shooting pretty regularly about 2 months ago or so.  In the beginning I would notice my support arm and shoulder would get extremely tired LONG before my draw arm would.  I thought if I keep on shooting each day my shoulder and upper arm would get stronger, but that doesn't seem to be happening.  In the beginning I could only shoot about 35 arrows and the shoulder gave in.  Now I can maybe get 45 or 50 arrows in if I slow down and take a smoke break in between groups.  My draw arm and shoulder are nowhere near as tired as my support arm and shoulder are.

I just cannot figure out why my arm and shoulder are not getting any stronger.  After 15 shots I go and retrieve my arrows and I can feel my shoulder start to strain just by merely carrying my bow.  That kinda thing shouldn't be happening this far into practicing.

Anyone have any ideas or thoughts about it?  If there is something I can do to get stronger I would love to hear it.

Thanks for the help and your time.

Nala

Offline Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Why is My SUPPORT Arm NOT Getting Any Stronger??
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 08:07:00 PM »