3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: The REAL bow length  (Read 914 times)

Offline Bladepeek

• Trad Bowhunter
The REAL bow length
« on: May 23, 2014, 11:55:00 AM »
One of my pet peeves (yeah, I have many) is the seemingly unlimited number of different connectors on USB cords. You need 16 different cords for all your cell phones, cameras, GPS, etc.

Another is bowyers who seem to follow no standards in specing their bow lengths. It would seem to me, we could use a standard for trad bows describing the bows length. I'm not saying it HAS to be the AMO standard method, so maybe a couple of standards which could be named. Like SAE, Rockwell, whatever, but standards. As an engineer, I like to see things described in terms that are reliable and predictable.

I have an old Bear Kodiak Magnum that seems to hit the AMO standard pretty close with its 52" marking.

All, every single one, of the RER bows I've had is dead on at the AMO standard of 3" longer than the string required to meet recommended brace height. If I order a string for my 58" RER XR, I order 55" - perfect fit. My 62" LX takes a 59" string. Again, that puts me dead on at the recommended brace height and I can tune up or down as desired.

I just picked up a used D/R longbow from a respected maker marked 52" 42# @ 28", but it takes a 51" string to meet the bowyer's recommended brace height. Seems a little to me like the "fine print" at the bottom of ads.

For example, "52" Bow, draws without stacking to 29", but then in fine print "depending on how you measure it, this bow might be considered 54".

Am I just being cranky in my old age, or does anyone else feel the same?
60" Bear Super K LH 40#@28
69" Matt Meacham LH 42@28
66" Swift Wing LH 35@28
54" Java Man Elk Heart LH 43@28