3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Folding hand saw recommendations? BOUGHT A SILKY  (Read 645 times)

Offline Tall Paul

• Trad Bowhunter
Folding hand saw recommendations? BOUGHT A SILKY
« on: June 09, 2014, 01:37:00 PM »
Hello all,

I've been hanging tree stands since 1985, and most of that time I've been using a piece of junk saw to trim tree limbs with. No more!

I'll be 49 years old soon, and I want to buy a top-of-the-line  FOLDING HAND SAW that will last the rest of my bowhunting career.

But it's gotta be SHARP! It's gotta cut like crazy!

I've been looking (via the internet) at a Silky Super Accel 210. The blade is 8.25" long, and folded up its 9.45" long. They sell for $44.00, which I don't mind as long as its a great tool.

What do you guys recommend?

Thanks, Paul
Is a life of rice cakes really life, or just passing time?-Rick Bragg

Offline Michael Pfander

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Folding hand saw recommendations? BOUGHT A SILKY
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2014, 01:42:00 PM »
I use a folding Japanese carpenters saw.  They are the best I've used.
MAP
Map
PBS
BHA
P&Y

Offline JimB

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2014, 02:18:00 PM »
I don't have experience with the silky.I've heard good things about these:
 http://wickedtreegear.com/wickedhandsaw_yellowhandle.html

I've been using Corona saws for a few years now and they have been real good.I also have two larger,fixed blade Coronas and they really rip for larger work.

Offline Phrogdrvr

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2014, 02:28:00 PM »
I like the Sven Saw.  I also use the Wyoming Saw, but it requires a little more in the way of set up before use.

Tom

Offline medicineman

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter