3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Make Take Down From One Piece  (Read 303 times)

Offline Jonathan Spool

• Trad Bowhunter
Make Take Down From One Piece
« on: June 21, 2014, 01:30:00 PM »
I have a 1969 69" Kodiak Special that  had one limb broken during shipping.  The riser is gorgeous and I was wondering whether or not it would be feasible to cut the riser and  pick up some limbs for it?  Has anyone done this?
I am a very experienced woodworker with a complete shop, but have no Bowyer experience.

Offline damascusdave

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Make Take Down From One Piece
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2014, 01:57:00 PM »
I have often thought with the size of those risers there is a lot of material that could be reused when limb problems arise...if nothing else I have seen them made into some breathtaking lamps

DDave
I set out a while ago to reduce my herd of 40 bows...And I am finally down to 42

Offline damascusdave

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2014, 02:03:00 PM »
Just had another thought...go to peteward.com and look for his information about WARFing...I have an idea that might be applicable

DDave
I set out a while ago to reduce my herd of 40 bows...And I am finally down to 42

Offline Bjorn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2014, 05:44:00 PM »
Don't overlook the smaller riser bows too. They can be excellent projects!   :bigsmyl:  

Offline Bobby Urban

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2014, 06:58:00 AM »