3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Nock high then nock low??  (Read 171 times)

Offline Fireman2019

• Trad Bowhunter
Nock high then nock low??
« on: June 25, 2014, 08:34:00 PM »
So after shooting today I had several shots that had one arrow stick nock high and the other nock low.  I am pretty sure that it's because I'm not getting a clean release, but would like some opinions as to other causes.  I'm very new to this.  I adjusted my anchor point to the corner of my mouth as well.  Doing that shortened my draw a bit to 28, but resulted in a better reference point and allowed a secondary anchor at my jaw.
Craig
Stalker Wolverine FXT 50@28”
English Walnut and Cocobolo
Black Widow PCHx 51@28"
Zircote and Tiger Myrtle

Offline BOWMARKS

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Nock high then nock low??
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2014, 08:43:00 PM »
A nocking point above and below arrow nock on the string may help,this helps keep arrow in the same position on string each shot.

Then adjust up or down from there to get a straight arrow in the target.
Kanati Long Bow 56"-45#@27"
Hoot's Long Bow 56"-45#@27"
Shrew Classic Hunter 56"-47#@28"

TGMM Family Of The Bow
United Bowhunters of Penna.
Compton Traditional Bowhunters
Professional Bowhunters Society

Offline Bladepeek

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2014, 08:45:00 PM »
Usually, when that happens to me, especially with a bare shaft, its my release as you suggested.

It could also be a slightly low nock point and the arrow is bouncing off the shelf some of the time.

Since you just changed your anchor, I would bet on the release, though.
60" Bear Super K LH 40#@28
69" Matt Meacham LH 42@28
66" Swift Wing LH 35@28
54" Java Man Elk Heart LH 43@28
62"/58" RER LXR LH 44/40@28

Offline Fireman2019