3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: cutting the arrow for tuning  (Read 281 times)

Offline beaunaro

• Trad Bowhunter
cutting the arrow for tuning
« on: June 29, 2014, 01:47:00 PM »
I'm fairly new to this process and am trying to get a 3555 GT to fly out of my Bear TD.

It's an 2013 model A riser with 50# #1 limbs (56" bow).

I am a righty, draw 27"

I would like to use a 100 grn brass insert and a 175 grain head so I get some pretty good weight and FOC up there for penetration.

I guess I have heard that I should be removing the insert each time and cutting from that end.

Does it hurt to cut from the nock end? (obviously easier). If even just to get that first model arrow built.

I know one would not do this with a tapered shaft like the ADs.

Can anyone get me close?Like an idea of what the length ought to be, or do I have to go thru the painstaking 1/4" cuts all the way from full length?

I know I cannot add it back on so obviously if you told me that the arrow I was looking to achieve should be about 29 1/2"....I would cut at 30, then start taking off 1/8"at a time.

Any help is appreciated.
Irv Eichorst

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: cutting the arrow for tuning
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2014, 02:27:00 PM »
With a similar bow weight, but drawing to 28", I would typically use a 29"  GT 3555 shaft with either a 100 grain or 125 grain tip, depending on the bow.