3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Back Quiver Build Along - St Jude...(photos have been restored-)  (Read 4070 times)

Offline Bud B.

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
I will begin editing these photos from photobucket (scammers) to Imgur links. I hope they stay linked for a looong time. 7/31/2017

I thought I'd do a build along on Hermon's back quiver. I've had a few folks PM or email me asking for pointers. I'm not a pro. I'm a hobbyist who likes doing many things. As a lefty growing up I had to make some things (six shooter holsters) for myself since not many left handed things were readily available. This is well before the world wide web sensation that's totally changed our lives.

So...

Let's talk leather.

You'll need a good shoulder of vegetable tanned 6/7oz leather. You can go thicker (7/8) or thinner (5/6), but from my experience 6/7 is a good weight/thickness. Some leather workers use other leathers. A web search will help you choose what you should get based on your needs. Veg tanned leather needs to be treated before your finished product can be used. That's why I like it. You can treat it with whatever quality treatment you desire.

The basic tools needed are: a razor knife, a straight edge ruler of some sturdiness, a flat cutting surface, a leather punch for making crisp holes, a soft face hammer for the punch, and a pencil. I use other tools and devices to help me along, but those are the basic tools needed.

You'll also need some good quality lacing. I use lacing made for leatherwork, not shoe laces bought at discount stores or other places. They will work, but they are not as sturdy as you'll need. I use 3/16 wide lacing. You'll be pulling it with some force, so sturdy lacing is a must.